Sponsor a legend

January 20, 2021

With the completion this week of a 700-seat refit of the main stand, we are excited to launch a new campaign to give fans the chance to celebrate the most iconic players to have donned the famous black and white stripes.

As part of the ongoing ‘sponsor a seat’ campaign that made the refurb possible, we are putting a modern twist on the Hall of Fame idea. Supporters will have the chance to vote for their favourite players from yesteryear, with the winners having their names embossed on the new seats and given pride of place in the main stand. Fans, family and local businesses will then have the opportunity to sponsor the seat of a legend of their choice.

There will be four categories of players for Magpies fans to select from straight away:

- The Magpies ‘Avenue Stadium’ XI (1990-2020) as voted for by fans over the summer via ‘The Same Old Few’ fanzine

- The FA Cup “giant killers” team who beat Plymouth Argyle in that most memorable of days in 2012

- The League winning captains from the victorious 1954/55, 1979/80, 1986/87 and 2003/04 seasons: Ken Bird, Hedley Steele, Trevor Townsend and Andy Harris

- Dennis “Dinky” Curtis – voted Dorchester’s greatest ever player on the club’s 125th anniversary

In addition to that, the club have teamed up with the club’s unofficial blog/fanzine ‘The Same Old Few’ to run a new fan poll this spring:  The best players to have graced the Avenue Ground (1946-1990).

Supporters will pick two players from each decade over the post-war period.  In a shortlist that will no doubt bring back great memories for many Magpies’ fans, local heroes such as Trevor Senior and Graham Fuge amongst others will feature, as well as national legends of the game such as Don Roper, Jackie Henderson and Graham Roberts.

For full details visit our Sponsor a Seat page

< Back